Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast #14

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #14

Writer of the Year Panel at the Tattered Cover

Writer of the Year finalists Susan Spann and Cindi Myers offered their thoughts, insights and advice during a late August panel at the Tattered Cover in downtown Denver. (Writer of the Year finalist Joan Johnston was unable to attend the event.)

Show Notes:

Shannon Baker: shannonbaker.wordpress.com

Cindi Myers: www.cindimyers.com

Susan Spann: www.susanspann.com

Joan Johnston: www.joanjohnston.com

 

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Podcast – Episode # 13

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #13

Mario Acevedo

Longtime RMFW member Mario Acevedo talks about the Sept. 5 workshop held in Grand Junction: "Everything You Need to Know About the Next RMFW Anthology."

Mario, who has agreed to step in as editor for the anthology, talks about the submission schedule and selection process and reveals the selected theme. In addition, Mario chats about writing short stories and about his ongoing series featuring vampire Felix Gomez.

Show Notes:

Mario Acevedo: www.marioacevedo.com

Hex Publishers: www.hexpublishers.com

Arte Publico Press: artepublicopress.com

Dwight Swain: www.amazon.com/Techniques-Selling-Writer-Dwight-Swain/dp/0806111917

 

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Bumpers and Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Podcast – Episode #12

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #12

Desiree Holt

Erotic romance writer Desiree Holt, one of two keynote speakers at the 2015 Colorado Gold conference in Denver, drops by for a chat about her six series of books, her daily writing schedule and a preview of the three classes she will be teaching at the annual writer's conference sponsored by Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. The conversation is mild, given the spicy subject matter, but some of the links in the show notes may lead to places that should involve parental supervision.

Show Notes:

Desiree Holt: www.desireeholt.com

Marie Force: marieforce.com

Robyn Carr: www.robyncarr.com

Ellora's Cave: www.ellorascave.com

 

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Bumpers and Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Podcast–Episode #11

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #11

Aaron Michael Ritchie

Aaron Michael Ritchey, a highly productive writer and frequent workshop presenter, talks about the three writing workshops he's part of at RMFW's Colorado Gold Conference in September 2015. He talks about his daily dedication to writing and the series he's producing for WordFire Press called The Juniper Wars. As he puts it, the series is "cowgirls with machine guns on a post-apocalyptic cattle drive." Aaron Michael Ritchey is the author of three books--The Never Prayer, Long Live the Suicide King and Elizabeth's Midnight. He is also the author of numerous collaborations and short stories, including a story in the upcoming Nightmares Unhinged, an anthology from Hex Publishers.

Show Notes:

Aaron Michael Ritchey: aaronmritchey.com

WordFire Press: wordfirepress.com

DeAnna Knippling: wonderlandpress.com

Maggie Stiefvater: maggiestiefvater.com/the-shiver-trilogy

Anthony Trollope: www.anthonytrollope.com

The War of Art - Stephen Pressfield: www.stevenpressfield.com/the-war-of-art

Gary Reilly - The Asphalt Warrior: www.theasphaltwarrior.com

Quinn Kayser Cochran: quinnkaysercochran.com

Andrew Smith - Grasshopper Jungle: www.authorandrewsmith.com/Author_Andrew_Smith/Home.html

Hex Publishers: www.hexpublishers.com

 

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Bumpers and Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Podcast–Episode #10

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #10

Susan Spann - Writer of the Year

In this episode, we talk with Susan Spann, recently announced as the 2015 Writer of the Year for Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Susan talks about her switch from writing unpublished historical fiction to published mysteries, about the moment of  inspiration for the Shinobi Mystery series, her writing process and the Twitter hit #publaw.

Show Notes:

Susan Spann: www.susanspann.com

Donna Andrews: www.donnaandrews.com

Kerry Schafer: www.kerryschafer.com

Janet Lane: www.janetlane.net

James Rollins: www.jamesrollins.com

Lisa McCann: www.theunwantedsseries.com

 

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Podcast–Episode #9

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #9

Kirk DouPonce--Designing Book Covers

In this episode, we talk with book cover designer Kirk DouPonce, who has produced over 1,000 covers for publishers and writers in his career. He's also one of the workshop presenters at the 2015 Colorado Gold Conference, to be held in September in Denver, Colorado. Kirk's workshop is titled, "Book Cover Design--Your Most Important Marketing Tool." We also chat with Suzie Brooks, chair of Colorado Gold, and get an update on registrations for the conference.

Show Notes:

Kirk DouPonce: www.dogeareddesign.com

Ronie Kendig: roniekendig.com

Bonnie Calhoun: bonniescalhoun.com

Stephen Lawhead: www.stephenlawhead.com

Mike Duran: mikeduran.com

Julie Dillon: juliedillonart.com

Enclave Publishing: enclavepublishing.com

Kathryn Lloyd--The Desk: www.thedeskonline.com/who.html

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast–Episode #8

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #8

Chris Mandeville - Author of Seeds: a post-apocalyptic adventure

In this episode, we talk with speculative fiction writer Chris Mandeville. In addition to recently publishing her first novel, Seeds: a post-apocalyptic adventure, Chris will teach a four-hour master class at the Colorado Gold conference in September. The class is "Everything You Need to Know to Write a Novel." Chris talks about her writing process, her inspirations and what she'll cover in the class.

Show Notes:

Chris Mandeville: www.chrismandeville.com

Neil Gaiman: www.neilgaiman.com

John Hart: www.johnhartfiction.com/?page id=18

Lucia St. Clair Robson: www.luciastclairrobson.com

Jeffery Deaver: www.jefferydeaver.com

Debra Dixon--Goal, Motivation, Conflict: www.debradixon.com

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast–Episode #7

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #7

Jack Marshall Maness - 2015 Colorado Book Award Winner

In this episode, we talk with Jack Marshall Maness, whose first novel, Song of the Jayhawk, the first in a trilogy, just won the 2015 Colorado Book Award in historical fiction. Jack talks about his writing and research process and about the writer's collective that supports his writing and publication efforts. He also reads the opening passage from his novel.

2015 Colorado Book Award Winners:  www.coloradohumanities.org/content/colorado-book-awards-winners-announced

More about Jack Marshall Maness:  jackmarshallmaness.com

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast–Episode #6

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #6

Janet Lane - Holt Medallion Award Winner

On this episode, we talk with Janet Lane, whose romance Traitor's Moon was just named as the winner in the historical category for the 2015 Holt Medallion Award. Janet talks about her long journey to publication and about the transition from being a traditionally published author to doing everything herself, right down to using her daughter for the covers of her books.

2015 Holt Award Winners:  http://www.virginiaromancewriters.com/Contests/holtwinners.html

More about Janet Lane:  www.janetlane.net

More about Story Magic: http://www.discoveringstorymagic.com

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #5

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #5

Heather Webb - Finding Your Voice

Historical Novelist Heather Webb talks about Becoming Josephine, Rodin's Lover and the master class she will be giving as part of the Colorado Gold Conference in Denver. Her workshop is called, "I Hear Voices - The Art and Craft of the Distinctive Voice." She also chats about her work in progress and an anthology she developed that will be out next year (2016) from Harper Collins.

More about Heather Webb: http://www.heatherwebbauthor.com

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com