Rocky Mountain Podcast–Episode #11

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #11

Aaron Michael Ritchie

Aaron Michael Ritchey, a highly productive writer and frequent workshop presenter, talks about the three writing workshops he's part of at RMFW's Colorado Gold Conference in September 2015. He talks about his daily dedication to writing and the series he's producing for WordFire Press called The Juniper Wars. As he puts it, the series is "cowgirls with machine guns on a post-apocalyptic cattle drive." Aaron Michael Ritchey is the author of three books--The Never Prayer, Long Live the Suicide King and Elizabeth's Midnight. He is also the author of numerous collaborations and short stories, including a story in the upcoming Nightmares Unhinged, an anthology from Hex Publishers.

Show Notes:

Aaron Michael Ritchey: aaronmritchey.com

WordFire Press: wordfirepress.com

DeAnna Knippling: wonderlandpress.com

Maggie Stiefvater: maggiestiefvater.com/the-shiver-trilogy

Anthony Trollope: www.anthonytrollope.com

The War of Art - Stephen Pressfield: www.stevenpressfield.com/the-war-of-art

Gary Reilly - The Asphalt Warrior: www.theasphaltwarrior.com

Quinn Kayser Cochran: quinnkaysercochran.com

Andrew Smith - Grasshopper Jungle: www.authorandrewsmith.com/Author_Andrew_Smith/Home.html

Hex Publishers: www.hexpublishers.com

 

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Bumpers and Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Podcast–Episode #10

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #10

Susan Spann - Writer of the Year

In this episode, we talk with Susan Spann, recently announced as the 2015 Writer of the Year for Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Susan talks about her switch from writing unpublished historical fiction to published mysteries, about the moment of  inspiration for the Shinobi Mystery series, her writing process and the Twitter hit #publaw.

Show Notes:

Susan Spann: www.susanspann.com

Donna Andrews: www.donnaandrews.com

Kerry Schafer: www.kerryschafer.com

Janet Lane: www.janetlane.net

James Rollins: www.jamesrollins.com

Lisa McCann: www.theunwantedsseries.com

 

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Podcast–Episode #9

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #9

Kirk DouPonce--Designing Book Covers

In this episode, we talk with book cover designer Kirk DouPonce, who has produced over 1,000 covers for publishers and writers in his career. He's also one of the workshop presenters at the 2015 Colorado Gold Conference, to be held in September in Denver, Colorado. Kirk's workshop is titled, "Book Cover Design--Your Most Important Marketing Tool." We also chat with Suzie Brooks, chair of Colorado Gold, and get an update on registrations for the conference.

Show Notes:

Kirk DouPonce: www.dogeareddesign.com

Ronie Kendig: roniekendig.com

Bonnie Calhoun: bonniescalhoun.com

Stephen Lawhead: www.stephenlawhead.com

Mike Duran: mikeduran.com

Julie Dillon: juliedillonart.com

Enclave Publishing: enclavepublishing.com

Kathryn Lloyd--The Desk: www.thedeskonline.com/who.html

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast–Episode #8

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #8

Chris Mandeville - Author of Seeds: a post-apocalyptic adventure

In this episode, we talk with speculative fiction writer Chris Mandeville. In addition to recently publishing her first novel, Seeds: a post-apocalyptic adventure, Chris will teach a four-hour master class at the Colorado Gold conference in September. The class is "Everything You Need to Know to Write a Novel." Chris talks about her writing process, her inspirations and what she'll cover in the class.

Show Notes:

Chris Mandeville: www.chrismandeville.com

Neil Gaiman: www.neilgaiman.com

John Hart: www.johnhartfiction.com/?page id=18

Lucia St. Clair Robson: www.luciastclairrobson.com

Jeffery Deaver: www.jefferydeaver.com

Debra Dixon--Goal, Motivation, Conflict: www.debradixon.com

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast–Episode #7

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #7

Jack Marshall Maness - 2015 Colorado Book Award Winner

In this episode, we talk with Jack Marshall Maness, whose first novel, Song of the Jayhawk, the first in a trilogy, just won the 2015 Colorado Book Award in historical fiction. Jack talks about his writing and research process and about the writer's collective that supports his writing and publication efforts. He also reads the opening passage from his novel.

2015 Colorado Book Award Winners:  www.coloradohumanities.org/content/colorado-book-awards-winners-announced

More about Jack Marshall Maness:  jackmarshallmaness.com

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast–Episode #6

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #6

Janet Lane - Holt Medallion Award Winner

On this episode, we talk with Janet Lane, whose romance Traitor's Moon was just named as the winner in the historical category for the 2015 Holt Medallion Award. Janet talks about her long journey to publication and about the transition from being a traditionally published author to doing everything herself, right down to using her daughter for the covers of her books.

2015 Holt Award Winners:  http://www.virginiaromancewriters.com/Contests/holtwinners.html

More about Janet Lane:  www.janetlane.net

More about Story Magic: http://www.discoveringstorymagic.com

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #5

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #5

Heather Webb - Finding Your Voice

Historical Novelist Heather Webb talks about Becoming Josephine, Rodin's Lover and the master class she will be giving as part of the Colorado Gold Conference in Denver. Her workshop is called, "I Hear Voices - The Art and Craft of the Distinctive Voice." She also chats about her work in progress and an anthology she developed that will be out next year (2016) from Harper Collins.

More about Heather Webb: http://www.heatherwebbauthor.com

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Outro music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #4

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #4

Holt Finalist Tina Ann Forkner Talks Romance & James Norris Previews RMFW Workshop on Boosting Character Conflict

Chapter 1
~with Tina Ann Forkner, starts at 1:36

On the fourth episode of the Rocky Mountain Writer podcast, 2015 Holt Award Finalist Tina Ann Forkner (Waking Up Joy) talks about her process for writing romance, describes how she makes time for her art, and shares her thoughts about how fiction is categorized.

More about Tina Ann Forkner: https://tinaannforkner.wordpress.com/
More about the Holt Medallion Awards: http://www.virginiaromancewriters.com/Contests/holtwinners.html

Chapter 2
~with James Norris, starts at 47:00

Also, science fiction writer James Norris previews a free RMFW workshop he's giving on June 13 (1 p.m. in Castle Rock) about boosting character conflict using a free software, Lucid Chart.

More about James Norris: http://home.wamego.net/jnorris/
More about Lucid Charts:  https://www.lucidchart.com/personahomepage

Intro and Outro music courtesy of Moby Gratis
Bumper Music courtesy of Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #3

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #3
Gwen Florio on Mysteries & "Missoula;" Podcasting with Jim Heskett

Chapter 1
~with Gwen Florio, starts at 1:30

On the third episode of the Rocky Mountain Writer podcast, mystery writer Gwen Florio calls in from Missoula, Montana where she played a key role in the reporting that led up to Jon Krakauer’s new non-fiction book, “Missoula,” about rape and sexual assault at the University of Montana. Florio also talks about what’s new with her mystery series featuring reporter Lola Wicks.

More about the Gwen Florio: http://www.gwenflorio.net

More about Jon Krakauer: http://www.jonkrakauer.com/

Chapter 2
~with Jim Heskett, starts at 27:30

Also, Jim Heskett, the voice of Indie Author Answers, talks about how his podcast helps find readers. He also talks about his new book, Wounded Animals, the beginning of The Whistleblower Trilogy.

More about Jim Heskett: http://www.jimheskett.com

For suggestions about podcast content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #2

Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #2
RMFW Writing Contest; Writing Across Gender

On the second episode of the Rocky Mountain Writer podcast, RMFW Colorado Gold contest chair Chris Devlin talks about what’s new in the 2015 version of the contest, which is now open to all aspiring writers. Note: contest closes June 1!

Also, 2015 Writer of the Year nominee Susan Spann, author of the Shinobi Mysteries, including the forthcoming Flask of the Drunken Master (St. Martin’s Press, July 2015), offers some advice about writing across gender.

Show Notes:

More about the Colorado Gold Contest rules and instructions: http://rmfw.org/contest/

More about Colorado Gold contest chair Chris Devlin: http://www.chrisdevlinwrites.com/

More about Susan Spann: http://www.susanspann.com/

For suggestions about podcast content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.