2014 Writer of the Year

Past Writers of the Year | 2014 Announcement Party Photos

Each year, Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers honors one of its published members as its Writer of the Year. The winner of the award is a member in good standing selected by RMFW's membership from candidates who have been published during the previous calendar year.

Meet your 2014 Writer of the Year Nominees


2014 Writer of the Year
Shannon Baker

Shannon Baker is the author of the Nora Abbott Mystery series by Midnight Ink, a fast-paced mix of murder, environmental issues and Hopi Indians. She can often be found backpacking, skiing, kayaking, cycling, or just playing lizard in the desert. From the Colorado Rockies to the Nebraska Sandhills, the peaks of Flagstaff and the deserts of Tucson, landscapes play an important role in her books. Tainted Mountain, the first in the Nora Abbott Mystery series, is set in Flagstaff, AZ, where she lived for several years and worked for The Grand Canyon Trust, a hotbed of environmentalists who, usually, don't resort to murder. It is a 2013 finalist in the New Mexico/Arizona Book Awards. When Shannon moved to Boulder, CO, Nora followed her and Broken Trust , released in March 2014, is set in the gorgeous Rocky Mountains. Her first thriller, Ashes of the Red Heifer, (L&L Dreamspell 2010) takes place in the Nebraska Sandhills and Israel. Visit her at Shannon-Baker.com

Christine_JorgensenChristine T Jorgensen is author of seven mystery novels, her latest is Missing, is a local best seller featuring Detective Casey Jansen. First in a planned series, Missing is a suspense thriller set in Colorado and written under the name, C.T. Jorgensen, separating it from her previous humorous amateur sleuths. Jorgensen, a confirmed critiquer, is a former Writer of the Year, a long time member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers, Colorado Gold Contest judge and member of Mystery Writers of America. Her second novel, You Bet Your Life, was a finalist in the Colorado Book Award.

terrywrightphoto2There's nothing mundane in the writing world of Terry Wright. Tension, conflict, and suspense propel his readers through the pages as if they were on fire. Published in Science Fiction, Supernatural, and Horror, his mastery of the action thriller has won him International acclaim as an accomplished screenplay writer. Terry's works include The 13th Power Trilogy, The Justin Graves Series, The Pearl of Death, and his latest release Black Jack. He also entertains readers with a variety of short stories such as Z-motors, Wilderness Rampage, and Return Me to Mistwillow, which appeared in RMFW's anthology Tales from Mistwillow in 2007. An RMFW member since 1998, he has served on the board as contest chair for the Colorado Gold and as Website Liaison. He's also the proud recipient of RMFW's coveted Jasmine Award for 2012. These days, as EIC of TWB Press, he has helped realize the publishing dreams of authors from California to Kenya. Storytelling isn't just a passion for Terry Wright. It's a way of life.

2014 Writer of the Year Announcement Party