Writer of the Year Winners

2015 Nominees and Voting

Each year, Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers honors one of its published members as its Writer of the Year. To be eligible, an author must have published a novel within the previous calendar year of the award. And the author must be a current member in good standing for the entire calendar year of the award. The winner of the award is selected by RMFW’s membership. Selection is based on the following:

  • An author’s participation in RMFW activities
  • The quality of an author’s writing measured against others within the same genre
  • Significant professional achievement

The 2014 Writer of the Year: Shannon Baker

Shannon-BakerShannon Baker is the author of the Nora Abbott Mystery series by Midnight Ink, a fast-paced mix of murder, environmental issues and Hopi Indians. She can often be found backpacking, skiing, kayaking, cycling, or just playing lizard in the desert. From the Colorado Rockies to the Nebraska Sandhills, the peaks of Flagstaff and the deserts of Tucson, landscapes play an important role in her books. Tainted Mountain, the first in the Nora Abbott Mystery series, is set in Flagstaff, AZ, where she lived for several years and worked for The Grand Canyon Trust, a hotbed of environmentalists who, usually, don't resort to murder. It is a 2013 finalist in the New Mexico/Arizona Book Awards. When Shannon moved to Boulder, CO, Nora followed her and Broken Trust , released in March 2014, is set in the gorgeous Rocky Mountains. Her first thriller, Ashes of the Red Heifer, (L&L Dreamspell 2010) takes place in the Nebraska Sandhills and Israel.

Connect with Shannon: Website, Facebook, Twitter, and GoodReads.

2014 Writer of the Year Announcement Party

The 2013 Writer of the Year: Linda Joffe Hull

Linda Joffe Hull joined Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers in 2001 with twenty pages and the naïve assumption that it wouldn’t be all that hard to complete and publish novel length fiction. Overnight success only took one decade, a few shelved manuscripts, and an infinite amount of support from RMFW. Linda is the author of The Big Bang and Eternally 21, the first title in the Mrs. Frugalicious mystery series.

Over the years, Linda has served in a variety of different positions within RMFW including President and Conference Chair and is currently an agent/editor liaison for the Colorado Gold conference. She also serves on the national board of Mystery Writers of America.

A native of St. Louis, Missouri, and a graduate of UCLA, Linda has resided in Denver for the last nineteen years and calls Colorado home.

She is currently at work on Black Thursday, the second Mrs. Frugalicious mystery and a second standalone novel.

Connect with Linda: Website, Facebook, Twitter, and GoodReads.

The 2012 Writer of the Year: Carol Berg

author-carol-bergWho would ever imagine that someone who majored in math, so she wouldn't have to write papers, would produce thirteen epic fantasy novels? Carol tells people that writing is "the hobby that ate her life."

Carol grew up in Texas in a family of teachers, musicians, and railroad men, taught math for a while, but worked as a software engineer for much longer. She has degrees in mathematics from Rice University and computer science from the University of Colorado. Carol lives, camps, hikes, and bikes with her husband in the Colorado Rockies.

Her books have won the Prism Award, the Geffen Award, and multiple Colorado Book Awards. She was truly honored and humbled in 2009, when her duology, Flesh and Spirit and Breath and Bone, was awarded the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature. Her name now sits on a list with the very authors whose works sit on her bookshelves: Tolkien, McKillip, Le Guin, Anderson, Kushner, et al.

Connect with Carol: Website, Blog, Facebook, and GoodReads.

The 2011 Writer of the Year: Robin D. Owens

Robin D. Owens has been writing longer than she cares to recall. Her fantasy/futuristic romances finally found a home at Berkley with the issuance of HeartMate in December 2001. She credits the telepathic cat with attitude in selling that book. Since then, Heart Thief was a launch book for Berkley Sensation in June 2003, Heart Duel was published in April 2004, and Heart Choice in July 2005. Her Luna Books series includes shape-shifiting fairies and average American women Summoned into another world to fight monstrous evil. The first, Guardian of Honor, came out in February 2005 and Sorceress of Faith will be out in February 2006. My best writing moment— winning the Romance Writers of America RITA award! My worst writing moment is every time a rejection hits.

Connect with Robin: Website, Blog, Facebook, and GoodReads.

The 2010 Writer of the Year: Pamela Nowak

pamnowakPamela Nowak has been a member of RMFW since 1994. She has a B.A. in history and has taught high school, college, and prison classes; worked as a historic preservation consultant; served as preservation specialist for the Fort Yuma National Historic Landmark; and ran a homeless shelter for 13 years. Her first historic romance, Chances, was released in 2008 and her second novel, Choices, was published in 2009. The books garnered favorable/starred reviews from Booklist, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, Romantic Times, Romance Reviews Today, and The Historical Novels Review. Chances was a Denver best-seller and was named one of the “Top Ten Romance Novels of 2008″ by Booklist, received the 2009 HOLT Medallion for Best First Book, and was a 2009 WILLA Finalist in Historic Fiction. Choices received a 2010 Holt Medallion Award of Merit in Historic Romance.

Pam has been a regular contributor to the RMFW Writer, serves as a judge for the Colorado Gold contest, teaches conference workshops, and volunteers for various conference positions, including serving three terms as Conference Chair.

Her third novel, Changes, is an August 2013 release and has received a Publishers Weekly starred review. A fourth book, set in 1905 Denver, is currently being shopped to publishers.

Connect with Pamela: Website, Twitter, Facebook, and GoodReads.

Past Writers of the Year

2009 - Mario Acevedo
2008 - Jeanne C. Stein
2007 - C.J. Box
2006 - Carol Berg
2005 - Cindi Myers
2004 - Robin D Owens
2003 - Kay Bergstrom
2002 - Christine Goff
2001 - Francine Mathews
2000 - Sharon Mignerey
1999 - Maggie Osborne
1998 - Leslie O'Kane and Patricia Werner
1997 - Anne Holmberg
1996 - Rick Hanson
1995 - Christine T Jorgensen
1994 - Leona (Lee) Karr
1993 - Jimmie Butler
1992 - Cheryl McGonigle
1991 - Diane Mott Davidson
1990 - Barbara J. Blackman
1989 - Jasmine Cresswell
1988 - Kathy Clark
1987 - Jasmine Cresswell
1986 - Kay Bergstrom
1985 - Maggie Osborne