Rocky Mountain Writer #95

Alice Kober - 2017 Honored Guiding Member

Two years ago, Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers started a new tradition of recognizing Honored Guiding Members, those individuals who have significantly contributed to the success of the organization over the years. Honorees are selected for their talent and abilities, as well as the leadership they've shown.

This year, it’s Alice Kober.

Alice Kober has been a member of RMFW for over 20 years.

She has volunteered for numerous jobs, including Conference Chair and RMFW President. She was given the Jasmine Award in 2005 to honor the long-term service of individuals to the organization.

On the podcast, Alice reflects on her early years with RMFW and also give us a sneak peek about the workshop she’ll be giving at this year’s conference, about the importance of book covers.

Alice should know. She currently works for the Arapahoe Library District, where she buys both print and e-book fiction for one of the best library districts around.

Local writers please note – Alice particularly loves buying books by Colorado authors.

Intro music by Moby Gratis

Outro music by Dan-o-Songs

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens:

Mark Stevens
Mark Stevens is the 2016 RMFW Writer of the Year. He writes the Allison Coil Mystery Series, including Antler Dust (2007), Buried by the Roan (2011), Trapline (2014), and Lake of Fire (2015). Buried by the Roan, Trapline, and Lake of Fire were all finalists for the Colorado Book Award; Trapline won. Trapline also won the 2015 award in genre fiction from the Colorado Authors League. Kirkus Reviews called Lake of Fire "irresistible." More about Mark on his website.