Jasmine Award

2017 Jasmine Award Winner: Pamela Nowak

pamnowakPamela Nowak has been a member of RMFW since 1994. She has a B.A. in history and has taught high school, college, and prison classes; worked as a historic preservation consultant; served as preservation specialist for the Fort Yuma National Historic Landmark; and ran a homeless shelter for 13 years. Her first historic romance, Chances, was released in 2008 and her second novel, Choices, was published in 2009. The books garnered favorable/starred reviews from Booklist, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, Romantic Times, Romance Reviews Today, and The Historical Novels Review. Chances was a Denver best-seller and was named one of the “Top Ten Romance Novels of 2008″ by Booklist, received the 2009 HOLT Medallion for Best First Book, and was a 2009 WILLA Finalist in Historic Fiction. Choices received a 2010 Holt Medallion Award of Merit in Historic Romance. Her third novel, Changes, was released in 2013 and received a Publishers Weekly starred review. Escaping Yesterday was released in 2015.

Pam has been a regular contributor to the RMFW Writer, serves as a judge for the Colorado Gold contest, teaches conference workshops, and volunteers for various conference positions, including serving three terms as Conference Chair.

2016 Jasmine Award Winner: Mark Stevens

Mark StevensMark Stevens writes the Allison Coil Mystery Series—Antler Dust (2007), Buried by the Roan (2011), Trapline (2014) and Lake of Fire (2015). Three of the four books were finalists for the Colorado Book Award and Trapline won. It also won the 2015 Colorado Authors League award for best genre fiction. The series has drawn rave reviews from The Denver Post, Kirkus Reviews, Mystery Scene Magazine, The Grand Junction Sentinel, The Aspen Times, High Country News, The Durango Herald, The Loveland Herald and many more. Kirkus called Lake of Fire “irresistible.” Stevens worked as a reporter for The Christian Science Monitor, The Rocky Mountain News, The MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour, and The Denver Post. After a second career in school public relations, Stevens now owns his own strategic communications business in Denver. Stevens is the 2016 Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers’ Writer of the Year. He is also president of the Rocky Mountain Chapter of Mystery Writers of America (RMMWA), serves on the national board of Mystery Writers of America and hosts the RMFW podcast, Rocky Mountain Writer. He is also a member Western Writers of America and the Colorado Authors League.

2015 Jasmine Award Winner: Wendy Howard

WJH-square-500Wendy Howard has been a member or RMFW since 2004 and a board member since 2012. When Wendy started as a volunteer, she took over writing and distributing email communications and soon stepped in as Technology Chair. Besides managing the rmfw.org website, she moved the organization into Cvent where we manage our events and memberships. Wendy’s been a professional writer and IT geek for over thirty years. When it comes to fiction, she writes dark stories mixed with comedy for all ages. She also spent a number of years planning local business networking and fundraising events. In her off time she hikes with her husband and two adorable beagles, watches cheesy horror films, and drinks a lot of wine. Visit her website at wjhoward.com for low-budget zombie movie reviews and details about her books.

2014 Jasmine Award Winner: Susan Brooks

brooks 2014Susan Brooks has been a member or RMFW since 2009 and a volunteer almost as long as that. She started as Hospitality Chair, and served on various committees related to conference and the board, assisted with elections, and ran critique groups. She has worked tirelessly as Conference Chair since 2012. She will remain Conference Chair through 2015, after which she will focus on her new publishing company, LiteraryWanderlust.com as well as continue to work as both a freelance editor, and acquisitions, and content editor for Champagne Books. She has an MA in Publishing from George Washington University.

2013 Jasmine Award Winner: Vicki Law

vickilawVicki’s first experience with RMFW was to attend the 2006 Colorado Gold Conference with her husband, Mike Ruchhoeft and best friend, Marne Kirstatter. Immediately, she was in awe of the RMFW well-oiled machine and felt welcome. Less than an hour after walking into the hotel, she’d reluctantly agreed to co-chair the 2007 conference with Marne. After a bit of confusion regarding her own impetuous actions, Vicki got online, joined RMFW and has never regretted it. Now, seven years later, she considers RMFW her tribe. She has gone from being unable to moderate small workshops to presenting her own classes and speaking in front of large crowds. She has also gained more marketable skills from RMFW than from all of her thirty plus years in paid jobs. More importantly, she’s learned to write and she’s come to know the ever-evolving writing industry. Because of RMFW, agents and editors, New York Times Bestselling authors and Excellent Writers in various stages of their writing journey are among her friends. She lives in Montrose with her husband and currently one of their six kids and her family. Someday, she hopes to experience empty nest but is currently enjoying living with one of their five grandchildren. Within a few days of this writing, their sixth and newest granddaughter will be welcomed into the world and into their home. She also lives with a large varied furry and scaly menagerie. On the side, Vicki works full-time managing a law office.

2012 Jasmine Award Winner: Terry Wright

A member of the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers since 1998, Terry Wright co-chairs our annual Colorado Gold Writing Contest and also handles membership and website editing and troubleshooting. Published in Science Fiction, Supernatural, and Horror, his mastery of the action thriller has won him International acclaim as an accomplished screenplay writer. There’s nothing mundane in the writing world of Terry Wright. Tension, conflict and suspense propel his readers through the pages as if they were on fire. Terry is also the editor of his own electronic publishing company, TWB Press, specializing in science fiction, supernatural, horror, and thriller genres with authors from California to Estonia. He lives in Lakewood with his wife, Bobette, and their Yorkie, Taz. Visit his Web sites at www.terrywrightbooks.com. And www.twbpress.com

2011 Jasmine Award Winner: Mario Acevedo

Mario Acevedo has been RMFW president, programs chair, and Writer of the Year; he has served on many RMFW and RMFW-PAL committees, always judges the annual contest for unpublished writers, and served on the selection jury for the 3rd anthology. His biggest contribution to RMFW, though, has been his unflagging support of newly-published members and also in getting the organization’s profile more attention, through organizing and manning a booth at the annual Mountain and Plains Independent Booksellers’ Association trade fair. Mario exemplifies service and dedication, and his Jasmine represents RMFW’s gratitude.

Jasmine Award Past Honorees

2010 – Robin D. Owens
2009 – Susan Smith
2008 – Linda Hull
2007 – Janet Lane
2006 – Peggy Waide
2005 – Diana Rowe
2004 – Karen Duvall
2003 – Margie Lawson
2002 – Jessica Wulf
2001 – Jameson Cole
2000 – Alice Kober
1999 – Liz Hill
1998 – Paula Boyd
1997 – Christine Goff
1996 – Sharon Mignerey
1995 – Carol Rusley
1994 – Janet Grill
1993 – Margaret Porter
1992 – Barbara Blackman
1991 – Lee Karr
1990 – Kay Bergstrom
1989 – Jean Anne Caldwell