2015 Writer of the Year nominees Joan Johnston, Cindy Myers, and Susan Spann (Writer of the Year).
RMFW Secretary, Christine Jorgensen at the book signing.
Volunteers Vicki Rubin, Veronica R. Calisto, and Vicki Law (2013 Jasmine award winner)
Nugget Award recipients Mark Stevens (top left), Vicki Rubin, Wendy Howard, Charles Senseman, Susan Smith, Angie Hodapp, Wendy Terrien, Vicki Law (bottom left), Terri Benson, Linda Joffe Hull, Corinne O'Flynn, Susan Brooks, Susan Spann
2014 Anthology Authors get together at the Book Bar to discuss promoting Crossing Colfax.
Membership chair, Saytchyn Maddux-Creech (center) and 2016 Colorado Gold co-conference chairs, Corinne O'Flynn and Wendy Howard greet #RMFW2015 attendees.
Attendees enjoying the amazing lunch buffet provided by The Westin hotel.

Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers

RMFW is a non-profit, volunteer-run organization dedicated to supporting, encouraging, and educating writers seeking publication in commercial fiction.

About Us | Become a Member | Join Our Mailing List

Log Into Your New Account

Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers has a new membership and event registration website. CLICK HERE for instructions to access your account.

Upcoming Program in Denver

Getting the Most Out of Your Critique Group: You’ve joined RMFW, you’re on fire after the Gold Conference, now what? It’s time to take advantage of one of the best resources of this organization – the critique groups. If you’ve never participated in a critique group before, it can be a bit like a blind date from an internet dating service. Join RMFW’s Critique Chair, Monica Poole, along with Shawn Harper and Lisa Manifold, to discuss what makes a great critique group. They will provide guidelines to help you get the most out of any group you’re part of. MORE INFO.

What's Happening?

We hope you had a spectacular time at this year's Colorado Gold Conference. If you have any questions after conference, don’t hesitate to contact Susan Brooks, Wendy Howard, and Corinne O'Flynn at conference@rmfw.org.

Below are links to documents you might need after conference:

2016 Writers Retreat: Registration NOW Open for the next writers retreat. Contact Susan Brooks at retreat@rmfw.org if you have any questions. For additional details and registration, CLICK HERE.

2015 Writer of the Year

Congratulations to Susan Spann, 2015 RMFW Writer of the Year. Susan's mysteries have made a splash, published in hard cover to unfailingly good reviews. Her mysteries are set in sixteenth-century Japan and feature ninja detective Hiro Hattori and his Jesuit Sidekick, Father Mateo. The first book was Claws of the Cat and the second is titled Blade of the Sumarai. Her third Shinobi mystery, Flask of the Drunken Master, was recently published.

Susan is the president of the Northern California chapter of Mystery Writers of America. Susan founded the #PubLaw Twitter hashtag, through which she provides pro bono information for writers. More About Susan

2016 Anthology

Submissions Open January 1st

Theme: FOUND

Sometimes things are better off lost.

And sometimes they were never meant to disappear.

Either way, when they're found, everything changes.


for submission guidelines and schedule or

contact Mario Acevedo at anthology@rmfw.org with questions.

2016 RMFW Writers Retreat
Franciscan Retreat Center in Colorado Springs, Colorado

RMFW is thrilled to announce our fourth annual writers retreat! Our 2016 location, the Franciscan Retreat Center in Colorado Springs, Colorado, is a peaceful, breathtaking setting in the foothills of the Colorado Rockies. You're sure to find inspiration in the natural beauty that will surround you. Come write with us!

March 10-13, 2016 - Registration NOW Open
Special Guests Courtney Miller-Callahan and Cassiel Knight

The Congregation of the Sisters of St. Francis of Perpetual Adoration were founded in Olpe, Germany, in 1863, by Mother Theresia Bonzel, who was recently beatified by Pope Francis. In 1954 the sisters moved to Colorado Springs and named their campus Mount St. Francis. The Mount is “home” to all of the Sisters of St. Francis, and particularly to the sisters who live and minister.


Rocky Mountain Writer Podcast – Episode #16
Ken Kirchner, a.k.a. Kendrick E. Knight, and his approach to Indy Publishing

Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers' own Ken Kirichner has discovered solid success as an independent writer, publishing e-books only on Amazon. The former U.S. Air Force weapons systems officer talks about the two series of books he's writing and the one stand-alone novel that has outperformed all the others. He also talks about the steps that led him to the "indy" route and offers a few tips for those thinking about diving in. Hint: one tip is to consider getting help from RMFW.

For suggestions about content or to comment on the show, email Mark Stevens. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Previous podcasts can be found here.

Host Mark Stevens: http://www.writermarkstevens.com