The Colorado Gold Writing Contest

Quick Links

Yearly Contest Results

Helpful Links

2017 Contest Timeline

Saturday, March 11: Contest Workshop
Friday, April 1, at midnight: Contest opens
April 2 - April 15: Online Contest Workshop
Wednesday, May 31, 11:59 PM MST: Contest closes
Thursday, August 3: Finalists announced
Early to mid August: Non-finaling entries returned to contestants
Saturday, September 9: Winners are announced at the Saturday night banquet

Subscribe to our emails

to stay informed about the Colorado Gold Contest.

Congratulations to Our 2017 Finalists

Women's Fiction

Lainey Cameron, Exit Strategy
Susanne Sener, The Mountain Savage
Brenda Linskey, Confluence
Rebecca Hodge, Margin of Safety
B.J. Eardley, Hell With the Lid On

Speculative Fiction

Luanne Smith, The Vine Witch
Julie Morris, Light Unveiled
Darla Upchurch, The Ectoplasm Alchemist
Levi Jacobs, Alethea, Book One: Water and Blood
Raewyn Bright, Demon Curse


Chrisann Winiecki, Lily Pearl's
Chrisann Winiecki, Silent Secret
Delores Gonzales Montano, Burying the Dead
Mackenzie McCreary, The Orphanage
Kathy Reynolds, Sweet Venom
Emily Bybee, Not Again


Amy Drayer, Murder Comes to Makah
Terri Benson, Pickup Artist/Book 1 of Bad Carma
Valerie Arnold, The Monitor
Mandy Miller, States of Grace
Val Moses, Doppel


Jack Matthews, The Alliance
G.M. Roman, Shot Caller
Roger Collier, Puppet Chase
Julie Ann Candoli, The Best Offense
Kevin Maris, Lightning in the Valley of the Meuse

Middle Grade/Young Adult

Jamila Montaque, The Spirit Train
Erin Price, Super Weenie
Kristina Rinard, Stand
Adare Elyse, Race Across the Battlefield
Jenna Martin, Roots
James Brooks, Friday Night Fever

Contest Overview

For over thirty years, the Colorado Gold contest for emerging writers has given commercial-fiction novelists the chance to get their work in front of acquiring agents and editors while also providing feedback and encouragement for the craft of writing.

Contest opens for submissions on April 1st and closes May 31st. Two judges from RMFW evaluate and score each entry. The top five submissions scoring 130 points or more in each category make the finals and will then be judged by an agent or editor who is attending the Colorado Gold Conference.

Entry Fee
$30 per entry or $55 per entry to receive a critique from one of the first-round judges.

Enter the first 4000 words of your manuscript and a 750 word synopsis in one of six categories (see below). Final judges will pick 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners.

In addition to a beautiful certificate, finalists will receive:
1st place: $150
2nd place: $100
3rd place: $75
2 remaining finalists: $30


Action/Thriller (Judge: Eric Campbell, Editor, Down and Out Books)
Mystery/Suspense (Judge: Sharon Bowers, Agent, Miller Bowers Griffin Literary Management)
Womens Fiction (Judge: Alicia Clancy, Editor, St. Martin's Press)
Speculative Fiction (Judge: Kristen Nelson, Agent, Nelson Literary Agency)
Young Adult/Middle Grade (Judge: Carrie Howland, Agent, Empire Literary)
Mainstream and Other Genres (Judge: Danielle Burby, Agent, Nelson Literary Agency)

Volunteer to Judge

To serve as a first-round judge for this year's Colorado Gold Contest, please fill our the Call for Judges form to express your interest.