Writer of the Year

Each year, Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers honors one of its traditionally published members as its Writer of the Year and one of its independently published member as its Independent Writer of the Year. To be eligible, an author must have published a novel within the previous calendar year of the award. And the author must be a current member in good standing for the entire calendar year of the award. The winners of the awards are selected by RMFW’s membership. Selection is based on the following:

  • An author’s participation in RMFW activities
  • The quality of an author’s writing measured against others within the same genre
  • Significant professional achievement

Our Winners

Colorado Gold Contest

This annual writing contest is your chance to get your novel into the hands of an acquiring agent or editor. Contests enter novels in various genres and entries are judged by a panel of judges.

Our Winners

The Jasmine Award for Volunteer Service

Named for long-time member Jasmine Cresswell, this service award is presented to an individual providing exemplary leadership and service to Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers over a period of at least three years.

Our Winners

The PEN Award for Authors who have Published their Debut Novel.

2014 Pen Awards

  • Piper Bayard
  • Bonnie Biafore
  • Peg Brantley
  • Bill Cherf
  • Ruth Colter
  • Sean Curley
  • Cathy Horvath
  • Sue Hughey
  • Carolyn Jones
  • Christie Keele
  • Page Lambert
  • Michael Madigan
  • Lisa O'Kane
  • Bonnie Ramthun
  • Stephanie Reisner
  • Theresa Rizzo
  • Lisa Brown Roberts
  • Paula Scanland
  • Bruce Schindler
  • Karen Schutte
  • Miche Sipes
  • Kevin Paul Tracy
  • Stephanie Tempast
  • Lowell Volk
  • Daniel Willis

2013 Pen Awards

  • Chuck Greaves
  • Gwen Florio
  • David Jessup
  • Kerry Schafer
  • Rebecca Taylor
  • Heather Webb

2012 Winners:

  • Susan Spann
  • Linda Joffe Hull
  • Liesa Malik

Awards from Other Organizations

Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers is home to a number of commercially published authors who have been recognized for their achievements through awards by other organizations.